STAA Summer Show Winners Announced

Awards were presented to four artists at the opening reception of the St. Tammany Art Association’s 54th National Juried Summer Show on Friday, July 26, 2019. Juror LouAnne Greenwald selected three awards, and the fourth was voted on by visitors during the reception. 
The juror’s selection for Best of Show was Charles Gudaitis’s “Pixel Chair”, honored with a $1,000 award funded by Heather Case in memory of her grandmother and STAA co-founder, Miriam Barranger. The Second Place award of $500 provided by Aubert Insurance Agency was presented to Jan Arrigo’s “Car Park and Water Tower”. Third place was awarded to Alexander Stolin’s “Crystal Ball” with $250 sponsored by George Schaefer, Jr. The Audience Choice award of $300, sponsored by Dr. Richard and Maggie McConnell, and voted on by those who attended the public opening reception, was presented to Veronica Hallock’s “Your Response”. 
“What a pleasure to jury the summer exhibition for St. Tammany Art Association,” said Greenwald. “The entries offered a broad sampling of the creative spirit and artistic talent throughout the state of Louisiana and beyond.” She explained, “I was inspired especially by the inventive use of materials, experimental processes, craftsmanship and the expressive representations of culture and landscape.” 
The Summer Show is open to artists nationwide who must submit works completed in the past two years. A total of 297 works were submitted by 114 artists representing 10 states, with 42 works by 38 artists selected for exhibition.
The exhibition will conclude on August 17, 2019, with a closing reception in conjunction with Covington White Linen for Public Art from 6 – 9 pm. 
The St. Tammany Art Association is located at 320 N. Columbia Street, Covington, LA 70433. Our gallery hours are Tuesday through Friday, 10 am – 4 pm and Saturday 11 am – 4 pm. All exhibitions are free and open to the public unless otherwise indicated.

It’s the first White Linen Night Art House After Party! Tickets free for members, $10 General Admission.